Sunday, October 21, 2007

Who determines the NL and AL MVP ?

The answer to the question of who determines the NL and AL MVP or Major League Baseball is the BBWAA, or the Baseball Writers Association of America. They are a group of writers from around the country who belong to this association who have been a member of the association for 10 years or more.

The BBWAA also vote for the induction of players into the Baseball Hall of Fame. In the days of pre-Internet these writers were the keepers of the key to MLB Baseball as they covered the season by writing columns in newspapers, and magazines covering baseball players every move on the field. They are the experts in the field. Lately, they've been challenged by emerging media companies on the internet and elsewhere. Online writers aren't eligible yet to participate in the voting of these treasured awards that we look forward to hearing about every year.

Local Philadelphia sports writers Bill Conlin, Jim Salisbury, and Paul Hagen are all part of the BBWAA who take part in the voting process to make these coveted awards. The BBWAA has some strict rules of it's own though, and a violation can find you out of the organization real fast. If a member of the association solicts an autograph from a player while working, he will be in deep trouble with not only the MLB team who discovers this infraction, he will also lose his membership in the BBWWA as well.

The organization faces criticism for some of it's decisions from time to time. That is to be expected in a world where nothing is simply black and white, there are a lot of gray areas to be considered. So this year whoever is picked to be the MVP in the NL and AL, you'll know that the decision was a vote by the writers that bring us the descriptions of the game. When a team is winning it's so great to read their columns, when a team is losing though, watch out the scathing words that scorch men's souls are let loose and it's all in a days work for the writer. The Baseball Writer of America......

Rich Baxter / Philly Sports Talk Now!

No comments: